16-24 октября 2010

24 players over 2700 ELO will participate in the 2010 European Chess Club Cup. Top rated participant is GM Levon Aronian (2783) who will play on board 1 for MIKA Yerevan. A few days are left before the finalization of the lists, for now a total of 115 GMs, 57 IMs, 40 FMs, and 214 titled players have signed up for the strongest club event of the year, equivalent to the Champions league in football.
The strongest team is the newly formed SOCAR Azerbaijan with average ELO of 2732. Five of their top boards are in the 2700 club - GM Mamedyarov, GM Grischuk, GM Shirov, and GM Radjabov. The team is completed by the ex world champion GM Rustam Kasimdzhanov and the Azeibarjan stars GM Mamedov and GM Safarli

1. SOCAR Azerbaijan (RtgAvg:2737)

1 GM Mamedyarov Shakhriyar 2756 AZE
2 GM Grischuk Alexander 2760 RUS
3 GM Shirov Alexei 2749 ESP
4 GM Radjabov Teimour 2748 AZE
5 GM Vachier-Lagrave Maxime 2721 FRA
6 GM Kasimdzhanov Rustam 2685 UZB
7 GM Mamedov Rauf 2660 AZE
8 GM Safarli Eltaj 2607 AZE

2. ShSM-64 Moscow (RtgAvg:2713)

1 GM Gelfand Boris 2751 ISR
2 GM Karjakin Sergey 2747 RUS
3 GM Wang Hao 2724 CHN
4 GM Caruana Fabiano 2700 ITA
5 GM Grachev Boris 2668 RUS
6 GM Riazantsev Alexander 2686 RUS
7 GM Najer Evgeniy 2657 RUS
8 GM Savchenko Boris 2627 RUS

The European Club Cup 2010 is officially opened
16-24th October in Plovdiv, Bulgaria

The opening ceremony of the European Club Cup 2010 was held Saturday evening at the Bendida Hall of Novotel Plovdiv. FIDE President Kirsan Ilyumzhinov, ECU President Silvio Danailov, the President of the BCF Stefan Sergiev, and Deputy Mayor of the City of Plovdiv Georgi Titiukov greeted the players and guests.

A total of 351 players will participate in the open section, of which 135 GMs, 61 IMs, and 247 titled altogether. The women section will have 64 players with 10 GMs, 23 IMs, and 51 players titled.


Данаилов Илюмжинов